A Pen Dipped in Poison: A witty and cosy mystery story, perfect for fans of Richard Osman

£4.495
FREE Shipping

A Pen Dipped in Poison: A witty and cosy mystery story, perfect for fans of Richard Osman

A Pen Dipped in Poison: A witty and cosy mystery story, perfect for fans of Richard Osman

RRP: £8.99
Price: £4.495
£4.495 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

The 103 third parties who use cookies on this service do so for their purposes of displaying and measuring personalized ads, generating audience insights, and developing and improving products. I am hoping the next book in this series, if there is one, will go back to all the things that I loved about the first book. Bought it because I quite like 'cosy murders' without the violent details that many crime books have but I must say it just dragged on and on with waffling about the people and the letters that after about half an hour into the book I had no idea who was who and who was doing what to whom, and why etc. I say this because I was sold this book on the idea that the first book featured a murder and so I thought this one would too.

The characters are likeable and quirky, the story moves quickly and this talented author leaves us wanting for more? The others are not as close to the problem, so don't fully appreciate the severity of the situation, despite their concern, until two incidents cause the three to come together to investigate in earnest. Becky, Jan, Liz, Izzy, Pat, Thelma, Kayleigh, Karen, Victoria, Nicole, Bunty, Josie, Macy, Claire, Linda, Tiff, Candice, Faith, Simone, Hope, Topsy, Rod, Liam, Derek, Teddy, Ian, Andrew, Steve, Matt, Chris, Doug - did I forget anyone? Malice and mayhem spur a school reunion of three modern Marples – and some of their Thirsk community learn a lesson they’ll never forget ! The staff there have been receiving poison pen letters and the ladies have to work hard to solve the mystery.

In this second book, the cast of characters is greatly augmented by being set in a school (the main three older women are all retired teachers who get pulled back in to various support roles in the running of the school). A great read for anyone involved in modern day education by an author who knows his onions about schools and the mysterious ways they have evolved. This series was inspired by Jon's long-time career as deputy headmaster of a northern primary school. It was a bit long winded but this is a new author and I am curious to see what happens in book three, mainly due to the trio. There is a section where the character is driving and the author keeps dropping street names as if they mean something.

This makes a great light mystery read for fans of the cosy genre and those formerly or currently employed in the UK education system will find plenty familiar within these pages!It did not, the novel frequently hints at scenarios that could lead to murder or lead to a body, that kind of thing but then these scenarios end up being nothing at all. The audiobook was just a joy and the narrator Julia Hesmondhelgh deserves a great deal of praise for her ability to make you feel included in the story.

Each of them is dealing with their own problems and, instead of sharing them as they usually do, they are keeping things close to their various chests, placing a strain on their relationships. The dialogue and relationships within this book are wonderful and by the end I felt I was leaving friends. A lighthearted, compassionate and humorous read, drawing brilliantly on the author's experiences as a Deputy Headteacher. Only this time, instead of an unexpected death it is a series of threatening poison pen letters that are disturbing the peace at their local school, which is under new management. But as they work to uncover the truth, they begin to wonder just how far someone will go to silence this poison pen.A gently quirky cosy mystery with plenty of twists and turns, and an intriguing cast of characters ?



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop